Commit To Fit: Month 5

This whole month of April was completely busy with studying for finals, getting ready for a trip to Tanzania, and keeping up on being committed to fit. The treadmill and I had a 30-45 minute a day every morning this whole month. Will see how it lasts after I get back from Tanzania.

Easter Dress

Easter was healthy (take that Peeps!) with minimal sweets. It seems there are five months out of the year where candy is used in celebration of the holidays. Interesting. Besides, I dislike Peeps so you will NEVER see those nasty marshmallow chicks in my cupboard EVER. But I had to have the Belgium waffles church was serving for Easter breakfast with all the Nutella and banana slices on top!

Meal prep has become more routine since I have a friend who taking the challenge of commit to fit. Now all I do is search Pinterest for recipes and try out all the concoctions hoping not to get bored in eating the same thing day in and day out for a week.

Depriving myself is not on the agenda and having a group lunch date with all the organic chemistry peeps (ha!) at Maggiano’s in Bellevue, eating Chicken Marsala was on the agenda. Well eating a ~1,200 calorie meal over two days would count on the agenda and I had to balance out my meals to compensate for this calorie heavy meal for the rest of the week. I regret nothing!

Photo of Maggiano's Little Italy - Bellevue, WA, United States. Chicken Masala :)
Chicken Marsala (pasta is served in another bowl)

You would think stressed from work and college would keep me skinny, but the opposite is true. When stressed it is like diving face first into a bowl of M&Ms for me. Chocolate is the go-to comfort food for me when I am stressed out. I am glad to say I did not dive into a bowl full of chocolate but decided to take the healthy route when it came to stress over finals. I found snacking on “apple nachos” and little bite sized Pro Bars to help with mindless eating while studying.

The month of April came pretty fast and ended fast. I could say I sailed through this month with a few healthy habits after being derailed for two months. I wonder what May (Month 6) has in store for my goal of committing to being fit by the end of the year? Stay tuned!

