Commit To Fit: 2nd Month

Image result for finished whole30

Boom! And just like that, I complete my second Whole30!

I have completed one round of Whole30 (2015) before with success and learned a whole lot about some of the things I cannot put into my body. Along with figuring out what I cannot tolerate in the food department, I also learned to have a better relationship with food this time around. Food freedom is a real thing, and with it come better understanding how food can negatively and positively affect your overall health. No matter what USA News & World Report says on their Best Diet Rankings, Whole30 is not a diet or unhealthy because there are many other things it does for people who have nothing to do with weight loss.
With that said, I have found to gain so much more than losing the weight, and able to stick with my commit to fit plan with ease.

img_1686-1
While on the Whole30, I started a strength training program to help keep my muscle while losing weight. I know this will be a slow process, and at times the soreness keeps me motivated to keep lifting. As for running, the cold snap that lasts two weeks here in Pacific Northwest made it nearly impossible to run outside in some locations. My running had to be on the dreaded treadmill. Why so dreaded? I get bored when I am on one.Maybe February will be a better month to run outdoors.

Results:

img_1754

img_1665

Not much change from last month in the above pictures and you can almost say it looks the same. While on the Whole30 I noticed nonscale victories over the loss of weight. The most pronounced victory is getting restful sleep every night. I wake up rested now, and have cut down on the amount of caffeine needed to wake me up in the morning. Mostly I have noticed I am not as sluggish anymore in the afternoon and I don’t have a craving for salty things either. I still, however, have my sweet tooth still intact. That will probably never change no matter how many Whole30s I do.

How it went down?
At some point, the Darth Sugar (Sugar Dragon) decided to rear his ugly head a couple of times when I least expected it during week one.I really wanted to plant my pretty face into a bag of Oreo’s and snort them. Thank goodness sliced banana with shaved coconut on top will cure my raving Darth Sugar from light saber in the head. I had moments when I wanted to inhale a bag or Juanita’s Chilipeno chips and Cadbury Chocolate Fingers. But I didn’t! So proud!
The sluggishness started out at the beginning of week two, but by the end, the whole being tired started to turn to more energy throughout the day. Craving sweets are still there, but eating a whole bag of chips didn’t seem all great either. Finding out I am waking up from a dead sleep at three am in the morning has been tough because last time I was getting great sleep! The third week I go sick and wanting to eat garlic bread while drink copious amounts of bone broth to get over this nasty cold. I really wanted to go off Whole30 just to get over this quicker, but I stayed the course. By the end of the fourth week, I decided to extend the thirty days into another thirty days to kick those bad food habits still affecting me.

Meals that rocked this month:
Crispy Spicy Turkey w/ Lemon Herb (Whole30 Cookbook pg 135)
Braised Beef Short Ribs w/ Mushroom Sauce (Whole30 Cookbook pg 38)
Beef & Sweet Potato Chili (Whole30 Cookbook pg 33)
Asian Sesame Chicken Salad & Shredded Sprout Slaw (Whole30 Cookbook pg 116, 235)
Grilled Pork Chop w/ veggies (Whole30 Cookbook pg 94)
Mexican Twice Baked Potatoes (Whole30 Cookbook pg)

img_1688
Mexican twice baked potatoes
Weight Lost: 2lbs
How Much More To Go: 25lbs
Diet: Whole30
Running: 20 miles
Strength Training:  30 minutes 2x a week

Commit To Fit: 1st Month

First Whole30 (2015):
When your human goes on Whole30, cat perspective Part 1
When your human goes on Whole30, cats perspective Part 2
First Whole30 Completed

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

