Unexpected Door Opens

I have stared too long at a door to my future that was not supposed to open anytime soon for the past five months. While looking hard at the door closed in front of me, I saw out of corner of my eye another door opening slowly to reveal a place I never expected would happen to me again. For the past five years I wanted to be accepted to the University of Washington to complete my bachelors in biology, and every time I applied for admissions I was rejected at total of six times. I gave up on the dream of one day finishing my bachelors degree until I received an acceptance letter from Northwest University. After enduring six months of interviews going nowhere, and not being taken seriously  because I had an Associate degree, I decided why not apply to a different college and see where it would take me. Surprise! An unexpected door opened. Within two weeks I was scrambling to get ready for the first day of classes and new student orientation. The whole acceptance took me by surprise in a very good way!

To those who have never heard of this small Christian university in Kirkland Washington, it is a college where there are small classes, and lots of friendly people who want to see you succeed in the classroom as well as the field of choice you have embarked on. Northwest has an excellent Biology program that is small enough for the professors to know each student by name and this is the main reason I choose to accept admissions here. Also I will be applying to their summer research program in the biology department for helping with oncogenic viruses which create cancer tumors when they infect cells. With my background in cancer research I am hoping to learn something completely new in cancer research.

Sophmore At Northwest University Fall 2015
Sophomore At Northwest University Fall 2015

A new journey has begun for this eagle (schools mascot), and in three years I will be back to being a research associate in the Seattle biotech industry. The possibilities that await me are endless. Cheers to a new adventure and realizing a dream come true is just beginning.

