A Healthy Hungry And A Book: Start of Another New Year

Is it too late to say Happy New Year!…..Didn’t think so. Another year has come, gone and now moving onward into the unknown of 2015. Oh that sounded depressing already! What is depressing is the first weekend of the New Year I watched the whole Uncut Twilight Marathon on TV and realized why the heck did I do that? It was a cold damp rainy day in the Seattle area and I had nothing better than to watch Twilight with cravings for Cheetos. Last month it was nonstop watching of holiday movies on the Hallmark Channel. Either way the first week and half has been eventful with changes, starting challenges, and making it through the first week and half of the New Year. Here we go!

Over the past week and half I have finished two books from my book list for PopSugar 2015 Reading Challenge. First book finished Isla and the Happy Ever After by Stephanie Perkins for a book set in high school and second one Solsbury Hill by Susan M Wyler for a book by a women author. Normally I do not do book reviews because everyone who reads a book will have a different experience then another. But Solsbury Hill by Susan M. Wyler is one of recent for which I recommend to those who have read Withering Heights by Emily Bronte.

Source: Pinterest

The story brings the legend of Catherine, Heathcliff and Emily Bronte into a contemporary love story about one woman who unlocks the devastating romantic history behind Withering Heights and how a legacy has an effect on her own life as well as destinies of all who live in its shadow. One part a mystery and one part love story mixed in with history of the Yorkshire moors. As I read the book on my way to and from work on the bus, I was held captive by the story, and was transported back to England that I had visited right after high school to the point no one really wanted to bother me by sitting next to me (must be scary looking when devouring a book). The ending to book was a real treat after a huge plot twist near the end turned out to be why the book is called Solsbury Hill. I have recommended the book to a few people who I thought may like reading it. My next book selection will be Withering Heights by Emily Bronte just to see the correlation from Solsbury Hill to the original Withering Heights for Classic Romance Novel. Here is a link to why the author wrote this fabulous book in the first place:http://blog.bookcountry.com/susan-m-wyler/

This past week been interesting and downright hungry at times. I decided somewhere in December to go on the Whole30/Paleo diet to reset and prime my body for eating healthy without going into shock. Looked simple enough with just eating fresh veggies , fruit, meat, and other sources of protein. Giving up dairy, sugar, chocolate (gasp!), grains, beans, processed foods and host of unhealthy fats for a whole month. What was I thinking? I started off not so well on New Year’s Day. I guess it was the fact that I had been up until 12:30 in the morning and just need toast with butter. Throughout this past week, there were moments where the lunch I was so proud to make turned into a sad depressing tasteless thing except the bacon.

IMG_1226
Sad Looking Salad

I think having bacon on the diet is what keeping me alive, and other tasty meat products. By Thursday I had to have just buffalo chicken salad with buffalo sauce smothering the salad fixings to really make it exciting to eat. Another disaster was making Paleo version of Cilantro Dressing. I follow all the directions, but for some reason I could not get the raw egg to emulsify enough to be called creamy. Just the thought of raw egg product all over salad greens was a salmonella and E. Coli epidemic ready to happen.  I just though screw it; I’m putting Kraft Ranch Dressing in it to thicken it up to make myself feel a little better about not coming down with food poisoning. At work I tried to be cheerful as much as possible (really don’t have to be cheerful to cancer cells. So I wasn’t!) When all I wanted was McVities Chocolate Digestive instead of carrots (oh carrots are another reason I am still alive)! In the past I had problems with cutting chocolate out of my diet. It always ended badly in the end. Fad diets are crap if they don’t allow you meat, chocolate and fruit. I will say I’m not as adventures in the veggie department, but I love to cook so this gave me a challenge to cook something new. I have found I prefer zucchini over cucumber any day. Just hopping to stop eating so many eggs! I’m feeling like Gaston in Beauty and the Beast!

Run Forrest Run! #colormerad
Source: Pinterest

Why am I running again? To run away from the fat ass that is why I run or even exercise. I decided to do a 30 day running and planking challenge to get started with my fitness goals this year. Color run in July is the end goal for a 5k run, and I want to continue to find races by the end of the year. So far it’s been a slow go on the treadmill, and I can plank for at least 45 seconds without wanting to touch the floor.

Two days into the New Year I completed two DIY projects for the apartment. I had wanted to do a few things from my Pinterest Craft Board, and though why not do them when I have the time.  First project was to frame all the foreign currency I had hanging around in a tin along with some old black and white postcards. In the process I discovered Command Picture Hanging Strips work well in keeping pictures on a texture wall (especially when an upstairs neighbor likes to cause the whole apartment to shake every time he walks!). The second project was making lamps out of some old beer/wine fermentation jugs my Granddad gave me long ago. I saw a pin on this and though why not make them? They were so simple to make, and were done in one day!

Lamp Out of Bottles
Lamp Out of Bottles

Remember the post at the beginning of the year saying I was going offline on Facebook, Pinterest and Instagram? Well so far I have kept my promise on Facebook and Instagram, but not so much has Pinterest. Why you ask? Well how in the world was I supposed to get instructions on creating my awesome lamps and cook all those Paleo approved recipes? Seriously I just went o there to look at the stuff I already pinned and nothing more. Since staying off Facebook for this long, I am less stressed out, feeling less like a complete failure in life, and accomplish more in the day. Instead I have found more time to read, blog, and just relax without feeling like I’m running a rat race of life for the first month of the year. I really don’t miss it at all. I will probably extend it through until the end of February or maybe March.  My new motto this year is “I no longer have the energy for meaningless friendships, forced interactions or unnecessary conversations. It’s a waste of my time and yours.” Just hoping this year is better than last.

