Attack Of The Pumpkin Flavored Anything!

Pumpkin beer, pumpkin flavored coffee, pumpkins carved, pumpkins, and more pumpkins! Starting in mid September all the pumpkins come out like invading Vikings on a quest to make you swear to never have pumpkin flavored anything again. And I could not agree even better! Opening the advertisement for Trader Joe’s this month, 97% of the things in Fearless Flyer was either made out of pumpkin or flavored with pumpkin. Case in point, pumpkin spiced ravioli, pumpkin cream cheese, pumpkin bread pudding, pumpkin pie moch ice cream, and Greek pumpkin yogurt.  Some foods should never go the pumpkin route, and POPSUGAR’s article makes it clear on the best worst pumpkin flavored products.  I don’t have an issue with pumpkins, but it is getting out of control of recent.

Pumpkin Spice Lattes are nasty! There just too sweet, because the barista must put a whole lot of sugar syrup in to make it at least some what editable. Looks very unhealthy to me.

The thing is I have made pumpkin spice muffins and have tried pumpkin beer before. The muffins I would do again, but the beer, not so much. I have tried half a dozen pumpkin beers and not one tasted anything remotely pumpkin-y. All I could taste was alcohol, hops, spices and a not so great aftertaste on a few. I realized I just don’t get the whole “hype” about pumpkin beer and  I’m like my Dad in I don’t have the taste buds for sweet beer except chocolate.  I should just stick with hard cider or the German Oktoberfest beers around this time of year. Even the sound of butternut squash beer sounds abhorred to me. Hope “squash” is not the new beer next year.

There is nothing wrong with pumpkin in general, but I do have an issue with so much pumpkin flavored things.  I may be un-adventurous, and  rather have the traditional pumpkin products then sweet yucky flavored pumpkin crap any day. I am done with this trend, done since last year and hope it dies down next year. I did see a pin on Pinterest promoting squash dishes saying “pumpkin is soo last year.” And I agree.

