Hike For The Oktoberfest Beer

Looking back on all the hikes I have done over the years and I can say I have hiked Wallace Falls in all seasons. Strange to think that it is the primary hike that I have done with others. This past March I hiked this very same trail with Megan for her college geography project. I have hiked it in the middle of winter with the rain pouring down, in the middle of a hot summer with lots of people crowding the trails, in the early spring with snow still on the ground and now early fall with all the trees peppered with fall blowing in the breeze. I think I need to find a new favorite hiking trail after this.

Our adventure started out with a detour that ended up taking us through the back country roads because as I found out last-minute SR-522 was closed for bridge construction. The drive ended up putting an extra thirty minutes to our already hour-long drive. Once we go there, there were lots of people starting out for the rail head in the parking lot and the weather looked like the rain was going to hold out. Another disappointment while hiking was the closed Rail Road Grade trail, so we had to hike the Woody Trail instead to get to the Upper Falls of Wallace Falls. The problems did not stop there, at the beginning of the hike my water bladder line leaked all over the front of my shirt resulting in me finishing the hike with my tank top (thank goodness for that!) and I started to over heat from all the exertion. Since hiking this trail many of times before, you would think I never have a problem. Wrong! Apparently the trail was more difficult this time around then the last three times. I felt half way through I was going to die from all the exertion I had to put forth to get over tree roots, and lift myself up to reach high steps on the stair parts of the hike. Michael realized how vertically challenged I am when it comes to certain heights and had to in the last bit of the hike hoist me up so I could get up the trail.

Apparently I have thought the Valley Over Look was the upper falls part of the hike. I was surprised to find that I had not made it to Upper Falls before. So we trudged up the steep switched backs to the Upper Falls area. When we got up to the falls, of my goodness! I have to say I missed out all those time when I didn’t make it up. The falls were beautiful!

The hike going down was not as bad except the last stretch where the stairs came back! But over all I’m glade I made it finally to Upper Falls of Wallace Falls.  Took us both 3 1/2 hours round a trip to hike the trail. I think next time I will aim to hike further up to Wallace Lake using the Rail Road Grade trail when it reopens again next summer. The trail is popular, but not as popular as Rattle Snake Ridge trail (believe me, people who have gone said it is very crowed in the day, and so go as early as possible for Rattle Snake!) and since it was free entry day for national and state parks, there were a little more people this time.

We hiked for the Oktoberfest beer. This means I made a hearty Oktoberfest Lager Stew for when we returned from our hike. I found this recipe on Pinterest and wanted to try my hand at cooking with beer again. Instead of celebrating Oktoberfest by getting massively sh*t faced to prove I can drink a Stein of beer like the Germans, I decided why not eat our beer? I think eating it is just as good as drinking it. The beer of choice I made it with: Pyramid Oktoberfest Autumn Lager. The end result was a hearty stew with Michael giving it a thumbs up for a repeat. I think I will make a hearty stew after each hike we take, since it seems to be a meal to replenish the soul and body. A little beer thrown into the mix wont hurt either.  I also made the night before another beer theme dish, Craft Beer Mac and Cheese.  The beer of choice: Pyramid Outburst Imperial IPA Dry Hopped IPA.  I found the vanilla Greek yogurt to be a little more powerful in flavor. Took a lot of beer to mellow out the taste of vanilla. Overall the mac and cheese came out better than expected since I did not need to put milk in. A repeat dish again.

Earlier this week at work my company had a Oktoberfest party since the German Oktoberfest starts on 20th of September and goes to October 6th. While getting the party setup I kept having the Toaster Strudel commercial where the kid says “strudel” in a German accent  in my head. Didn’t help when people were saying Prost! all the time and clinking their beer bottles ( not German steins 😦 ) every time someone finished a round of the hot sauce challenge.

I know! What the heck is what you are thinking when seeing such a commercial like that! I tried and only got as far as the one after the Tabasco sauce before it was like eating gasoline and needing a snow cone. At least I can say I’ve tried it.

Overall hiked for the Oktoberfest beer, had a try at the hot sauce challenge, hiked five miles with nature and spent a wonderful time with my boyfriend while doing all of this. I believe this time was an unconventional Oktoberfest celebration weekend.

 

 

 

 

 

