She Said I Was Yummy! A Wedding Celebration Like No Other

My first wedding I have attended with my boyfriend started out with me telling him in his suit how yummy he looked. He did look really good! I started getting ready for this wedding celebration early since this would be the first time I would be going to a formal event with him. I knew I would be finally introduced to the couple getting married for the first time, but also meeting the ex girlfriend. The wedding was at the beautiful Golden Gardens Bathhouse. Since the couple officially married nine months ago in a very small backyard ceremonial before the groom was deployed. This was a huge celebration party to include everyone in on the celebration.

(C) HR Northwest Photography. Golden Garden’s Bath House

 

Since the groom is in the Coast Guard, the theme was patriotic ( groom’s background) and sea ( the bride’s background) mixed together. Very beautiful decorated. For the feast there was Hawaiian BBQ made by the bride’s family who are Hawaiian and wanted the guests to have a taste of authentic Hawaiian BBQ from the islands. The food was delicious and yep there was Spam sushi. I do like Spam, and I am not crazy for saying this either. Spam out of the can, no, but Spam done up is really good. Thank goodness for Poi not being served! That takes an acquired pallet to eat. The wedding cake was part cupcakes, part red velvet with the sea shells made of marzipan. Unfortunately the bride and groom did not do the normal military tradition of cutting the cake with a sward. Since this was a laid back affair I can see why it would be a bother. Few military protocols were thrown out the window for everyone’s sake.

The ceremony was beautiful and very emotional at times. The ceremony was not all too formal and had some funny parts. I did have misty eyes when the bride and groom both said their vows to each other. These two truly are soul mates, and I wish them complete happiness and many adventures in their life together. The bride’s stepfather gave a beautiful speech about the couple. His theme of the speech had an element of the Polynesian background of the sea warriors of the Hawaiian islands. The speech was befitting to the groom’s background as a Coast Guard and a tug boat captain. I could feel how proud to have the groom be apart of the family. During the ceremony when the bride and groom were exchanging vows, some table decorations caught fire. Quickly it was extinguished before it became out of hand. A funny moment during the vows was after the bride was finished she leaned over to kiss her husband, only to be told to wait. Her response: “but we are already married.” She has a valid point there.

A little after dinner there was a “challenge coin” smack down.

A challenge coin is a small coin or medallion (usually military), bearing an organization’s insignia or emblem and carried by the organization’s members. Traditionally, they are given to prove membership when challenged and to enhance morale. In addition, they are also collected by service members. In practice, challenge coins are normally presented by unit commanders in recognition of special achievement by a member of the unit. They are also exchanged in recognition of visits to an organization.[1] The challenge, which can be made at any time, begins with the challenger drawing his/her coin, and slapping or placing the coin on the table or bar. In noisy environments, continuously rapping the challenge coin on a surface may initiate the challenge. (Accidentally dropping a challenge coin is considered to be a deliberate challenge to all present.) Everyone being challenged must immediately produce the coin for their organization and anyone failing to do so must buy a round of drinks for the challenger and everyone else who has their challenge coin. However, should everyone challenged be able to produce their coin, the challenger must buy a round of drinks for the group. ~Wikapedia

Truth is I haven’t a clue who won and who had to pony up for drinks. All the coins ended up in the middle of dance floor one after the other. Funny thing is, I forgot the one I had won off an Air Force dude in Hawaii. Just watching them throw their coin into the ring was comical and real military morale. All the uniform men were throwing back shots after shots with the groom.  By the end of the night all of them were buzzed or drunk enough to need their dates to drive them home. Before the cutting of the cake, the bride’s mother performed a Hawaiian hula for the couple. The song she chose was the Hawaiian version of the famous Celine Dion and Andrea Bocelli’s The Prayer. I love the dance of hula and hula to me has been pure emotion in all the movements. This hula was no exception. It was emotional, raw, beautiful, loving and grace. Special moment for the bride, and emotional moment for everyone in the room. No wedding would not be completed if there was not a little drama from the guests.

This wedding was tame compare to how some people’s wedding guest can get out of hand. There was a story going around (one posted on the wedding website) about the bride receiving a cold reception when meeting a few friends of the groom.

During a bout of preseason football and wings, Lindsay, Megan’s coworker, brought her (dressed too cool for school in a leather jacket and a partially shaved head) friend to meet her boyfriend and his friends- including Peter. Meg was met with cold reception- except by Peter (dressed fashionably in a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles t-shirt). He thought she was pretty dang awesome, and way out of his league, to which was reaffirmed by his friends. ~Wedding Website

According to my boyfriend, he and now Lindsey’s husband did not meet the bride with cold reception, but another friend was the one. This friend in the middle of the toasting to the couple decided to make an ass of himself by apologizing to the bride in front of 150 people for that day. To make it even more embarrassing, he said it did not have any effect because now they were married. The bride forgave him, but I could tell she was a little taken back by it. Just one look at bridesmaids, groomsmen, the parents, and everyone at our table was the look of “oh no he did not just do this!” The same friend had the misfortune in “hitting” on all the Lesbians after so loudly proclaiming to our table and the surrounding table he was going to get drunk and get luck tonight. Oh boy he was wrong. His trail of “ass-ness” did not stop there. You wonder the story behind the title of the blog post? Little after dinner he said I was a bio-engineer, to which is a small ego boost no less. But he has to dig himself deeper in a hole by saying I over inflate my boyfriend’s ego way to much. To this my boyfriend’s response, “damn right, she said I was yummy!” The guy’s face was priceless. Me red-faced.  By the end of the night people started to behave and less drinking was being done. A few days later he did apologized for his behavior at the wedding and I believe the alcohol was really to blame.

The celebration beer was provided by several friends of the couple. One such friend brews his own beer, and many of my boyfriend’s friends rave about. The beers on tap from this friend are a dark golden color with a more alcohol content and a more heavy body hops. The beer was great, I enjoyed a small amount of it, but it not what I would drink all the time. But what really puts me off more than anything is when a craft  beer “snob” points out your choice of beer as if you don’t know how to pick a good beer.  I dislike drinking shitty watery beer just as much as the next girl but you don’t have to be a douche about it. Heineken may not be a craft beer, but it not shitty or watery beer you see high school and college kids drinking. I do care about what I put into my mouth and care enough about not putting shitty quality beer in the giggity. I lean more for the light color less hops beer (Pilsener) in social settings and I didn’t want anything too heavy since champagne toasts were later. I had tried the beer everyone was raving about and found the beer tasted like my Heineken with more alcohol content and a dark amber color to it. Nothing special, I have had better tasting beer before. So I stuck to my guns and drank my Heineken in spite of what the beer snobs were saying and it felt damn good!

After cupcake/wedding cake, the dancing began! I have seen pictures of my boyfriend dancing at other weddings, and he really looks like he is killing it on the floor. I will admit, I like a guy who can cut loose on the floor and dance instead of being like a stiff robot. The whole party started when everyone was dancing away and karaoke to the music. There were a few songs the bride and the groom had their own dance routine that made it even more fun. I also looked forward all night to have one slow dance song with my boyfriend. One of those moments that made my heart skip a beat, and I felt lost in the moment with him. kicking off my heels and dancing the night away with everyone was a great way to end a truly wonderful wedding celebration.

10006186_10100831831739565_2127312166_n
The Grooms Men In Beast Mode Sunglasses. (Credit: Andrew Larsen)

But this is not the end of the night! My boyfriend and I along with a bunch of people helped take down all the decorations and stuff at the venue. This process made it a very long night in the end. The problem was there was too many people who were drinking and could not drive a U-Haul van through the streets of Ballard without being caught. So my boyfriend, another wedding guest and I drove the van to where my boyfriend works to drop off for safe keeping. Also the park in which the event took place closes the gates at midnight, so there was a mad dash to get everyone out of the place before the gate closed. By the time we made it back home it was nearly midnight and we did not get to sleep until maybe two in the morning. The next day I realized I am getting to old to be staying up this late, but the wedding was a blast, and I enjoyed myself way to much.

