Oahu’s Windward Coast Vacation Day 7 (Valley of The Temple), Day 8 & Day 9

_DSC0213_edited-2

Confused? Looks as if I made a short trip to Japan when really this temple is in Hawaii. I came across this little known tourist attraction when researching for things to do. The temple is called Byod O-In Temple and it’s a replica of a 10th century Buddhist temple in Uij Japan. This temple is in a Memorial Park/ cemetery where all religions are represented.  For six dollars per a person, you can tour the grounds and take pictures. The settle is very peaceful and looks as if you are up in the mountains in Asia.

Ringing the large iron bell at the temple is something to do for Buddhist believe  ring the bell is to cleanses the body, mind, heart and soul of negativity. By one gong of the bell, negativity is swept away for a long a prosperous life ahead. Buddhist use it as a way to bring good luck. Well I wanted some good luck for myself, and so I rang the bell. Black swans are supposed to be keepers of surprises and keep the negativity of spiritual world in check. Plus I have never seen Koi fish as huge as the ones living at the temple. My goodness they are huge!

Koi and a black swan
Koi and a black swan

Inside the temple is a Buddha shrine where offerings, and incense are burned. The massive Buddha statue in gold leaf dominates the room. This picture doesn’t even begin to describe how ornate the inside of the temple is. Even going bare foot out of respect was not so un natural as it would seem if this place was in a colder environment.

Buddha shrine
Buddha shrine

Before lunch we all head back to the Marine Base to pick up some more supplies for the coming week at the Commissary. This time the place was not as much busy as the first time we came. A few months back I came across an article on how civilians are upset at how the military families have lower food prices for groceries. They called it the Ketchup-Gate. Honestly people, I don’t understand the uproar?! Meat prices are maybe dollar cheaper than civilian grocery stores, and that is for select cuts of meat. Just think of it this way…most commissaries are on military bases outside the US is places where there is no standard grocery store, or local food prices are much higher of worse rationed! Most military personnel do not get paid nearly as much as they would in the civilian world. Lower your rank, the less money you make. Also there is a 3% surcharge tacked on to the bill to keep the commissary going. So think of Safeway tacked on a 3-5% surcharge on your bill along with any food tax you had to pay. You would no like that would you?

Nana has this little saying, why not have dessert first. For most of the vacation the justification was to have dessert first, then have whatever else last. On our way back from shopping at the Marine Base, we all stopped in for an ice cream at the famous ice cream shop Dave’s. Dave’s is famous for their had made ice creams, and is ranked one of the best ice cream shops on the island of Oahu. Unfortunately they do not make the passion fruit or pineapple ice cream. But their Coconut Macadamia Nut ice cream was delicious  as ever. As you can see, there is a theme going here. I have found to like coconut and macadamia nuts mixed together in a form of a desert. How this came about is still unknown to me. After a shop for pure sugar, it was time for some surf and sand at Bellows.

IMG_0311Day eight was just relaxing on the beach and resting from a wild night with my cousin the previous night. Later after going to the Valley of the temples, I was taken to Waikiki for a night out on the town. I partied at Rum Fire Bar and danced into the wee hours of the morning at Moose’s Bar. I had to spend some a day recovering from a hang over and realizing even in my mid twenties, I just cannot go too wild anymore.

Day nine we all headed in the afternoon back into Waikiki again for our last chance at anything we wanted to do there. We walked through the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center to beat the heat. I will tell you this, the beaches in Waikiki are a lot hotter in temperature than the beaches around the island. As soon as I stepped onto the sand, I thought my feet were going to burn through my sandals after walking on a path for a few minutes, I just wanted to find some shade or a cool spot to be in. I do believe with all the concrete and buildings all around, there is more heat being generated, and while the rest of the island is cloudy, Waikiki/ Honolulu is sunny.There is no wind blowing either unless at night.

I did tour through the famous International Village Market Place before it is shut down for good. Apparently by the end of October, all the shops have to move out so developers can tear it down and build a hotel on the spot. Sad to see one of Hawaii’s old attractions being destroyed just so more profitable venture can take its place. I’m very glad to visit this iconic spot while I was here! Just sad. I wished I had bought something there just for the novelty, but after going from one store sell Hawaiian wear to another with the same stuff, I just could not being myself to do it. Nana did find something humorous among all the touristy nick nacks.

Obama License Plate
Obama License Plate

Then back to Bellows to cool off and relax on the beach again.

2017 Correction: The Byodo-In- Temple charges $3.00 per a person now.
The old International Village Market Place is no longer after the summer of 2013. As of 2016 a newer version of the International Village Market Place has been completed and the stores are more up scale then what was there before.

